Webber Wentzel E-Alert: New merger filing fees

- 05 December 2018

Webber Wentzel

Webber Wentzel Logo
Webber Wentzel E-Alert Banner
05 December 2018 Follow us on Facebook Follow us on LinkedIn Follow us on Twitter

New merger filing fees effective from 1 January 2019

The Minister of Economic Development yesterday published an amendment to Regulation 10(5) of the Competition Commission Rules in Government Gazette No. 42082 (available here). In terms of the amendment, new merger filing fees for intermediate and large mergers will be effective from 1 January 2019:

  • ZAR 165,000.00 for an intermediate merger (increased from ZAR 150,000)
  • ZAR 550,000.00 for a large merger (increased from ZAR 500,000)

The Minister increased the merger filing fees substantially last year to improve resources at the competition authorities, and it is likely that this latest increase in filing fees is also aimed at addressing on-going resource challenges.

Businesses currently planning mergers in South Africa may have to consider whether these new filing fees will have any effect on the commercial and regulatory aspects of their transactions.

We will continue to keep you updated as developments arise.

   

CONTACT US


For further information, please contact your usual Webber Wentzel adviser or one of the people listed below:

Daryl Dingley | Partner
daryl.dingley@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 11 530 5285

Mmadika Moloi | Partner
mmadika.moloi@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 11 530 5359

Desmond Rudman | Partner
desmond.rudman@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 11 530 5272

Werner Rysbergen | Partner
werner.rysbergen@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 11 530 5468

Shawn van der Meulen | Partner
shawn.vandermeulen@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 11 530 5859

Martin Versfeld | Partner
martin.versfeld@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 11 530 5322

Robert Wilson | Partner
robert.wilson@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 11 530 5756