Find a Lawyer

Search

Webber Wentzel E-Alert: Is it the end for labour brokers as we know them? Understanding the implications of a recent Constitutional Court matter

- 31 July 2018

Webber Wentzel

View this email in your browser
Webber Wentzel Logo
Webber Wentzel E-Alert Banner
31 July 2018 Follow us on Facebook Follow us on LinkedIn Follow us on Twitter

Is it the end for labour brokers as we know them? Understanding the implications of a recent Constitutional Court matter

The Constitutional Court recently handed down a long anticipated judgment (Assign Services (Pty) Limited v National Union of Metalworkers of South Africa and Others (CCT194/17) [2018] ZACC 22 (26 July 2018)) which is likely to be of crucial importance to the labour broking fraternity.

The Court held that vulnerable workers (i.e. those earning on or below the current threshold of
ZAR 205,433.30) are deemed to be employed by the client after a period of three months, creating a sole employment relationship between the employee and the client for purposes of section 198A(3)(b)(ii) of the Labour Relations Act.

We have taken this opportunity to prepare a detailed note for you, explaining key aspects of the judgment and its effect in more detail.

Read more



If you are interested in attending a seminar to discuss this decision, please indicate your interest, by clicking here.


CONTACT US


For further information, please contact your usual Webber Wentzel adviser or one of the people listed below:

Claire Gaul | Partner
claire.gaul@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 21 431 7346

Deon Visagie | Partner
deon.visagie@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 21 431 7348

Brett Abraham | Partner
brett.abraham@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 11 530 5346

Deirdre Venter | Partner
deirdre.venter@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 11 530 5439

Dhevarsha Ramjettan | Partner
dee.ramjettan@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 11 530 5707

Eugene Phajane | Partner
eugene.phajane@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 11 530 5712

Johan Olivier | Partner
johan.olivier@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 11 530 5194

Kate Collier | Partner
kate.collier@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 11 530 5303

Kenneth Coster | Partner
kenneth.coster@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 11 530 5836

Kirsten Eiser | Partner
kirsten.eiser@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 11 530 5583

Nick Robb | Partner
nicholas.robb@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 11 530 5627

Pamela Stein | Partner
pamela.stein@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 11 530 5200

Prevot Van der Merwe | Partner
prevot.vandermerwe@webberwentzel.com | T: +27 11 530 5572