Webber Wentzel E-Alert: Petroleum and Liquid Fuels Sector Transformation Charter to be amended

19 September 2017

Webber Wentzel

 

Webber Wentzel E-Alert Banner
19 September 2017 Follow us on Facebook Follow us on LinkedIn Follow us on Twitter
Webber Wentzel Logo

 

Petroleum and Liquid Fuels Sector Transformation Charter to be amended

On 13 September 2017, the Department of Trade and Industry informed the public via proclamation (Proclamation) of the intention of the Department of Energy and the Petroleum and Liquid Fuels Industry to align the Petroleum and Liquid Fuels Sector Transformation Charter (Charter) (which is Schedule 1 to the Petroleum Products Act, 1977) to the Broad-Based Black Economic Empowerment (B-BBEE) Act, 2003 and the generic B-BBEE codes through a stakeholder consultative process. Upon promulgation, the Charter will serve as a sector specific code for the Petroleum and Liquid Fuels Industry. The Proclamation states that the Minister of Energy has appointed a Steering Committee and that a Transformation Charter Council will also be established in order to lead the process of the development of the sector code. Members of the public have been called upon to participate in this alignment process by submitting comments to the Steering Committee. The contact details are as follows:

The Secretariat
Steering Committee
B-BBEE Petroleum and Liquid Fuels Sector Transformation Charter

Department of Energy
Private Bag x 96
0001 or
192 Visagie Street
Pretoria
0001

Email address: Petroleumsectorcode@energy.gov.za

Click here to read the Proclamation

CONTACT US


For further information, please contact your usual Webber Wentzel adviser or one of the people listed below:

Candice Gabriel | Partner
candice.gabriel@webberwentzel.com | Tel: +27 21 431 7261

Adam Ismail | Partner
adam.ismail@webberwentzel.com | Tel: +27 21 431 7383

Candice Meyer | Partner
candice.meyer@webberwentzel.com | Tel: +27 21 431 7347

Stacy Mogale | Partner
stacy.mogale@webberwentzel.com | Tel: +27 11 530 5092

Safiyya Patel | Partner
safiyya.patel@webberwentzel.com | Tel: +27 11 530 5853

Jonathan Veeran | Partner
jonathan.veeran@webberwentzel.com | Tel: +27 11 530 5336