National Assembly recommends Pansy Tlakula as Chairperson of the Information Regulator

This week has seen a significant step towards the long-awaited implementation of the Protection of Personal Information Act (POPI).

The National Assembly has, by a majority vote of 228 to 111, recommended that former Independent Electoral Commission chairperson, Pansy Tlakula, be appointed as Chairperson of the Information Regulator. Lebogang Stroom, Johannes Weapond, Tana Pistorius and Sizwe Snail have also been recommended to serve as members of the Information Regulator. The nominations still require formal appointment by the President.

We anticipate that the commencement date for the operative provisions of POPI will be announced shortly after the President has made the formal appointments. The operative provisions of POPI remain subject to a grace period of at least one year.